f Biomaterials, IISc Bangalore


  • PhD: (Magna Cum Laude, Great Distinction), Metallurgy and Materials Engineering; Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (KUL), Belgium; Thesis defended in March, 2001 (Thesis submitted – September, 2000); specialisation: Ceramics
  • Masters of Engineering: (First Class), Metallurgy; Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India, 1997.
  • Bachelor of Engineering: (First Class Honors), Metallurgy; Regional Engineering College, Durgapur (presently National Institute of Technology, NIT-Durgapur), India, 1995.


  • Dec 2014- till date: Professor, Materials Reserach Center, Indian Institute of Sceience, Bangalore, INDIA
  • May, 2011-Dec 2014: Associate Professor, Materials Research Center, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, INDIA
  • Dec., 2007-Mar., 2012: Associate Professor, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology, IIT Kanpur, INDIA. [Promoted to Professor in March, 2012]
  • Nov. 2001-Dec. 2007: Assistant Professor, Department of Materials and Metallurgical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology, IIT-Kanpur, INDIA.
  • May-July, 2007: Visiting Professor, AMASE Course for Erasmus Mundus Programme, University Polytechnica Catalonia (UPC), Barcelona, Spain.
  • May- July, 2003: Visiting Scientist, Department of Physics, University of Warwick, UK.
  • May – July, 2002: Visiting Scientist, School of Materials Science and Engineering, Seoul National University, South Korea.
  • March-Sept., 2001:Post-doctoral research fellow at Materials Department, University of California, Santa Barbara, USA.


  • National Bioscience Award for Career Development, Department of Biotechnology, Government of India, 2014. [Conferred annually upon select Indian bio-scientists of less than 45 years of age for unique contributions made in the frontier areas of biological Sciences]
  • Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award, Council of Scientific & Industrial Research, Government of India, 2013. [Citation: “outstanding contributions encompassing theory and experiments to significantly expand our understanding of cell functionality modulation on engineered biomaterials using electric field stimulation.”]
  • Invited member, National Institution for Transforming India, Niti Ayyog (earlier, Planning Commission), the Government of India, 2016
  • NASI-SCOPUS Young Scientist Award for the meritorious contributions in the field of Engineering Sciences, Elsevier partnered with National Academy of Sciences, India, 2010.
  • ‘Metallurgist of the Year’, Ministry of Steels, Government of India, 2010 [awarded every year to outstanding Metallurgist/Materials scientist of age 55 years or below].
  • Robert L. Coble Award for Young Scholars, American Ceramic Society, 2008.
  • ‘Young Scientist’ award, Indian National Science Academy (INSA), 2005.
  • ‘Young Engineer’ award, Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE), 2004.
  • ‘Young Scientist award (R. L. Thakur Memorial Award)’, Indian Ceramics Society, 2003.


  • FAIMBE- Fellow, American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (to be inducted on March 20, 2017 at National Academy of Sciences, Washington DC)
  • FNAE- Fellow, Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE), 2015.
  • FNAc - Fellow, National Academy of Sciences India, 2013.
  • FBAO-Fellow, Society for Biomaterials and Artificial Organs, 2014.
  • FAScT- Fellow, West Bengal Academy of Science and Technology, 2014.

Glimpse of lab facilities


Professor, Materials Research Centre,
Indian Institute of Science,
Karnataka, India
Email: bikram@mrc.iisc.ernet.in,
Tel.: +91 80 2293 3256
Fax: +91 80 2360 7316

Other Affiliations:
Associate Faculty, Center for Biosystems Science and Engineering,IISc, Bangalore
Principal Investigator, DBT funded Translational Center on Biomaterials for Orthopedic and Dental Applications, IISc, Bangalore
Honorary Distinguished Visiting Professor, Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology, Sibpur, Howrah, India.