About Us
  Contact Us
  Mail (Faculty : Student)
Updated on: July 15, 2010  
  FACULTY - S. A. Shivashankar, Professor  

Last Updated: April 28, 2007
Default faculty mailing address: Materials Research Centre, Indian Institute of Science(IISc), Bangalore - 560012, INDIA.
Phone: Country code-91; Bangalore city code 80 from abroad and 080 from India.


S. A. Shivashankar

Off: +91-80-2293 2782
Res: +91-80-2360 1921
Fax:+91-80-2360 7316
E-mail: shivu@mrc.iisc.ernet.in

Pages to be visited:
Research Areas
Research Group

Brief Biodata:

Following his Masters in Physics from Bangalore University in 1967, Prof. Shivashankar obtained his Ph. D. in Chemical Physics from Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana, USA in 1979. From 1979 to 1990, he was a research staff member in the Materials Laboratory at IBM's T.J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, New York, USA. He has been a member of the MRC faculty since 1990.

Research Areas:

  • Development of chemical precursors
  • MOCVD of oxide thin films
  • ALD of metals and metal oxides
  • Thermodynamic modeling of the CVD process
  • Microstructure development in MOCVD-grown films
  • Properties of thin films
More Details

  1. "Determination of the enthalpies of sublimation and evaporation from thermogravimetric data: Application to metalorganic complexes of Al and Cr", Gairola, Anshita; Kunte, G. V.; Umarji, A. M.; Shivashankar, S. A., Thermochimica Acta (2009), 488(1-2), 17-20.
  2. "Assembly of sol-gel-grown LixCoO2 nanocrystals through electromagnetic irradiation", Das, Mahua; Ranjith, R.; Bittencourt, C.; Krupanidhi, S. B.; Pireaux, J. J.; Shivashankar, S. A., Applied Physics A: Materials Science & Processing (2009), 95(2), 523-536.
  3. " Ellipsometric study of Atomic Layer Deposited TiO2 thin films", Jaiswal, Piyush; Kunte, G. V.; Umarji, A. M.; Shivashankar, S. A., AIP Conference Proceedings (2009), 1147(Transport and Optical Properties of Nanomaterials), 396-401.
  4. "Surfactant-mediated synthesis of functional metal oxide nanostructures via microwave irradiation-assisted chemical synthesis", Sanjaya Brahma, S. A. Shivashankar, Mater. Res. Soc. Symp. Proc. (2009), 1174-V02-08.
  5. " Microwave-Assisted Synthesis of NiO Nanoparticles", Jena, Anirudha; Shivashankar, S. A., AIP Conference Proceedings (2008), 1063(Mesoscopic, Nanoscopic, and Macroscopic Materials), 211-216.
More publications





2008 Materials Research Centre. All rights reserved.